The Emerson House System


The House Pastoral system is based on Michael Bernard’s ‘You Can Do It’ program. Students are involved in various activities, including values education, sports competitions, music and drama festivals.


These activities require our students to display confidence, persistence, organisation and the ability to get along with one another (also known as the ‘Four Foundations for Success’).


The houses are named after 8 famous Australians who served their country with honour and pride in various ways.


The House names are: Rafferty, Cowan, Dunlop, Flynn, Bradman, Paterson, Drysdale and Melba.


Each House group consists of approximately 50 students ranging in age from 5 to 18 years and 9 staff.


Each year we invite a special guest to present the badges tour house and school captains. These guests epitomise the values that we would like in all our students. Here is a list of our esteemed presenters -


Badge Presenters for the Investiture

2002- Mel Dalgleish - Mel represented Australia at two Olympics in 1980 and again in 1984 in Basketball.

2003- Michelle Timms – Michelle is an Australian female basketball coach and retired professional basketball player.

2004- Wendy McGuinness - Wendy McGuinness, a Radio Journalist and News Reader for radio station 774.

2005- Bob Dickens –Bob is a world renowned orthopaedic surgeon and close friend of Sir Weary Dunlop.

2006- Peter Brown – Peter has been a councillor for the City of Greater Dandenong from 2003-present. He was also the Mayor of the City of Greater Dandenong in 2006.

2007- Tammy Van Wisse – Tammy is a marathon swimming champion.

2008- Alfred Gregory – Alfred was the photographer that captured the first successful climb of Mt Everest in 1953.

2009- Allan Jeans – Allan was a former coach of St Kilda, Hawthorn and Richmond football clubs. He also played VFL/AFL football for St Kilda.

2010- Trevor Vincent – Trevor was a gold medallist at the 1962 Commonwealth Games in the 3,000 metres steeple chase.

2011- Simon McKeon – Simon was Australian of the Year in 2011.

2012- Luke Ball – Luke is a former AFL footballer who played for St Kilda and Collingwood.

2013- Waleed Ali – Waleed is a journalist, TV and radio presenter and comedian.

2014- Robbie Flower – Robbie was a former Melbourne VFL/AFL footballer.

2015- Cr Angela Long – Angela is a councillor for the City of Greater Dandenong. She has served from 1997 - 2005 and 2008 – present. Angela was also Mayor in 2000 and again in 2013.

2016- Peter Buckle – Peter is a former coach of the United Kingdom Women’s Olympic Basketball team, Assistant Coach of the Australian Opal’s Team and coach of the Townsville Women’s National Basketball League Teams.

2017- Liz Watson - Liz is a netballer who plays for the Melbourne Vixens and has represented Australia.

2018 - Max Binnington - Max is a 2 time Commonwealth Games Medallist in Hurdles. Since retirement from the track, Max has been involved in the coaching and management at club level at "the Hunters" - Glenhuntly Athletics Club, of which he has been a member for more than 40 years.


© Copyright 2020 Emerson School